Tags

, ,

It has been just over a month since I assumed the role of ACRL Vice-President/President-Elect and it has already been busy, but rewarding.  The ACRL staff, and the leadership with whom I’ve been interacting so far have been wonderfully supportive for which I am very grateful.  In this role, getting advice and assistance from others makes what I have to do seem easy.   This brief post will highlight the work that I have been doing so far.

My first task was to appoint an Appointments Committee.  One major role of the Vice President is to appoint members to ACRL Division-level committees.  The Appointments Committee, chaired by Kenley Neufeld and comprising Jennifer Baxmeyer, Jason Coleman, Susan Jennings, Robin Miller, and Danielle Theiss, will begin their work in earnest in the fall.  A call for volunteers to serve on committees will be made soon and I encourage all members to volunteer.

The Presidents (Past President Ogburn, President Bell, and I) and the Executive Director (Mary Ellen Davis) communicate weekly to ensure that the business of the association moves forward.  We have been working with other Board members and the chairs and vice chairs of committees to ensure that work plans for the upcoming year are in place and that these plans are aligned with the ACRL Plan for Excellence.  The dedication of the members in ensuring that ACRL remains a vibrant organization is to be commended.  These work plans will be discussed in greater detail when the Board meets for its strategic planning session in September in Chicago.

I have also been giving some thought to my presidential program.  The 2014 ALA Annual Conference will be in Las Vegas and I think a program on financial literacy, meeting one of the ACRL goals of Student Learning, will be appropriate for this location.  I’ll be writing more on the program as it develops.